Who We Are

Vision and Mission · Members · Board of Directors · Honorary Members · Supporting Organizations · Secretariat

We are innovative European businesses, policy makers, and energy efficiency campaigners.

Our message is simple: The time to create an energy efficient Europe is now!

Vision and Mission

The European Alliance to Save Energy (EU-ASE) was established at the United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP16) in December 2010. Our members and partners include some of Europe’s leading multinational companies, a prominent cross-party group of European politicians and energy efficiency campaigners from across Europe.

Our vision is of a future where energy efficiency and end-users empowerment are central to the EU energy system and are fundamental drivers for job creation, sustainable growth, competitiveness, energy productivity, innovation, energy security and decarbonisation.

At EU-ASE, our mission is to:

  • Serve as the leading European business organization gathering and representing all industrial sectors engaged in energy efficiency;
  • Give visibility and enhance technological and market solutions for energy efficiency whose potential is today not fully exploited, aiming for a doubling of the rate of energy efficiency improvements to at least 3% per year;
  • Strengthen and enforce a well-functioning EU legislative and financial framework for energy efficiency and cost-effective decarbonisation, in line with the Paris agreement;
  • Promote a forward looking political agenda where energy efficiency will facilitate further decarbonisation efforts and the integration of renewable energy sources.

Board of Directors

Monica Frassoni
Harry Verhaar
Chair EU-ASE Board
Head of Global&Government Affairs
Philips Lighting
Bertrand Deprez
Vice-chair EU-ASE Board
Vice President EU Government Affairs
Schneider Electric
Sian Hughes
Vice-chair EU-ASE Board
Director of External Affairs
Knauf Insulation
Mark Draper
Head of Public Affairs & Sustainability
Didier Teirlinck
Executive Vice President Climate Segment
Ingersoll Rand
Gene Murtagh
Chief Executive Officer
Roland Ullmann
Director Industry Affairs
Building Automation
Siemens Switzerland Ltd
Ingrid Holmes
E3G London office
Patty Fong
Programme Director for Energy Efficiency
European Climate Foundation
Sergio Andreis
Kyoto Club

Honorary Members


Luigi Petito

Luigi Petito

Head of Secretariat and Membership Development

Giuseppe Petito

Giuseppe Petito

Administration and Finance

Diana Galatus

Diana Galatus